Confessions of a terrible player

It has come to my attention something that I have wanted to ignore for a while: I am a terrible player. I have leveled 10 or 11 characters to level 80, but I don’t know the ins and outs of any single class. I have a hard time remembering and using effectively combo fields and finishers.

None of my characters is fully decked out in ascended gear. I might even still have one or two Masterwork accessory on since I forget to check them. I get lost in dungeons as easily as I get lost while driving around (Horrible sense of direction transferred from offline to world to online.) When it comes to pvp, I forget everything I know and press every attack command I have until someone dies (Usually me) I am a terrible, terrible jumper and can barely keep up with guild puzzles or fractals that require lots of jumps. And let’s not talk about fractals.

My builds aren’t optimal either. I can barely understand most guides anyways .My necromancer runs around with an axe, and I’ve heard terrible things about it. I don’t even use foods on a regular basis.

I’m basically a noob with a lot of alts.

But you know what? I have been having fun.  I can understand that having an optimal build will make it more likely to be invited to dungeon runs and fractals, and I try to make myself at least useful enough to not suck. (or at least let party know in advance that I don’t know what I’m doing.) Is it ok to sacrifice your fun for the sake of your team? And if I do, what’s the point of playing if I’m not having fun?

I’m also aware that sometimes, there ARE things you need to do/have if you want to survive a dungeon, and players will NEED to adapt if they want to keep up. But that’s what I like about Guild Wars; optimal builds might help you clear dungeons faster, but I’ve found the dungeons are more lenient when it comes to the necessary minimum to survive.

Maybe I’m the one with the wrong mentality, and I do wish to actually get to know the game I’ve been playing for almost 2 years better. I just wish people could focus a little bit more about having fun and a little bit less about optimal results.

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a terrible player

  1. I totally get where you are coming from! I also have several level 80 toons that I know I don’t have them set up right. I look for builds on metabattle.com or even Dulfy. I don’t even run dungeons because I’m afraid I will look like a fool in not knowing if I am equipping the right traits or abilities. Fractals I stay away from since I suck at jumping and don’t want to look like an ass in front of people who know what they are doing. BUT, through all of this, I still have fun!! I do the boss train, PVE, dailies, and farm for crafting items and this pleases me.

    I think everyone is different in what they look for in a game. Some are big PvP’ers. Some love WvW and running dungeon after dungeon. And some like me, just like to explore the world, get into the lore and just have fun in our own little way.

      1. Yes…I am eagerly awaiting HoT as well. Needs a breath of fresh air and something new 🙂 I’m so excited to see they are finally rebuilding Lions Arch! Can’t wait to see the final outcome. I posted some pictures on my blog daysintyria.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

