One sim is not enough

A while ago, I decided to give The Sims a try. I’ve heard a lot about it, and I just knew it would be the type of game that would hook me right away (And that’s one of the reasons I never played it before.)

My experience with The Sims 3 was very limited, however, because of some issues I had where the game would crash constantly on me, throwing away a good chunk of my sims’ lives away.

After the release of Sims 4, I have been debating when to get it, and when the price was slashed by 50% during Black Friday, I decided it was time.

Starting up

As custom, one of the characters (or names) I use or create in nearly every game is Aster Guarionex.

I tried basing Aster the Sim on a bit of every other Aster I have ever made. The first Aster was an elven bard that liked to dance was nearly naked. The second Aster, from Guild Wars 2, is a human guardian, that happens to be nearly naked too. And the third Aster, from Final Fantasy XIV was an even more naked monk.

I brought the musician from original Aster and picked the Muser reward trait, and music lover for one of his persoality traits. Being a buff guardian and a fit monk in other lives, I also chose the active personality trait. Being a bard and a guardian, Aster has been mostly about helping other people, so his third personality trait is outgoing. And thus, Aster Guarionex became a Sim. As you can see, he’s not nearly naked!

Maybe I just missed that option, but I didn’t find a pre-created house ready to move in, so Aster just bought an empty lot and built his house from scratch. Well, nearly. There were some pre-made rooms he used. After playing architect and interior decorator for a while, this monster was born.

He was so busy trying to make sure everything inside made sense that he didn’t notice how… unusual the house looked from outside. But hey! It can only improve at this point, no?

And the house isn’t even that great from the inside. It has a living room with a couch, penguin TV and of course, a radio. Then there’s the necessary kitchen, bathroom and bed room. To provide an outlet for his athletic side, there’s a punching bag just behind the sofa.

Tutorial mode made Aster instantly smelly just to show him what is a negative mood, so Aster had to take a shower right away.

After the shower, he decided to do a bit of training… and it was sad. The first day of training is usually a hard one, so I guess everything is good.

Aster was so excited when he watched people outside, he decided to go out and make some friends. He forgot to change his exercise clothes. (I assure I had nothing to do with this! He decided to stay shirtless by himself! Aster first potential friend is Brent Barger, a genius that loves outdoors. Aster is not too bright himself, but they seemed to get along well while they talked.

In an attempt to broaden his circle of friends, he approached Julia Grubb, a childish loner who is also a slob (I’m going by personality traits here!) That must explain why she just left her uneaten lunch at the picnic table. Aster started feeling a need to use the restroom, so he decided to run home, which happens to be near the park.

After a quick restroom break and a change of clothes, Aster remember tutorial made him cook and his perfectly crafted grilled cheese sandwich was still on the table. Aster considered he could be a male model grill cheese sandwich before brushing off that crazy idea and gobbling down his lunch.

I forgot to take pics during this time, but Aster grabbed his guitar to do some practice at the park. He quickly got embarrassed since he was playing badly. Feeling the need to talk about his insecurities to a random stranger, he sat down next to Vasyl Standforf, who also happened to be of the creative type.

The talk lasted quite a bit of time and Aster decided it was time to call it a day. After all, he got a job as an Amateur entertainer and started next day.

Will this be an ongoing series? I don’t know. Maybe? I still need to complete Guild Wars 2’s Project 365, but this one wouldn’t require me to try to post daily. Let’s just see where this goes…

Leave a Reply

