Aster plays with Miis

Nintendo is truly evil.

For the past months, that company decided it would take over my life and my wallet by releasing a lot of awesome games that I want. It started with Hyrule Warriors. I thought it would be a nice diversion from real life, but that game got me really hooked. Then, days later, Super Smash Bros arrived.

I have ALWAYS loved the Smash Bros series, and saying that I have been anticipating this game for years is a huge understatement. (Ok, so it may be just a regular, accurate statement, but bear with me.) The advantage of having it on 3DS is that I can sneak in some gameplay between the crazy things real life make me do (work, prepare for work, taking a nap to recover from work, classes, etc)

I don’t consider myself good a t reviewing things, so I’ll just go skip that part and talk about one of my favorite aspects in many games: Character creation.

Super Smash Bros allows you to take your Miis and turn them into fighters. They can fight with their fists (Brawlers), a sword Swordfighter, or a gun (Gunner. Yeah, I know, these names are crazy creative). You can also assign them a of 3 different moves per attack (neutral, down, up and side), giving you plenty of room for customization. You can also unlock outfits and hats to make them look even more unique.

So here are my 9 Mii Fighters (Please read the name of each character as the announcer from Smash bros for a more enjoyable experience)

Aster Guarionex

Of course, not game where I can create a character is complete without Aster in it. Sadly, there is no option to go shirtless in it, so I had to make do with what I have.

Aster is a huge fan of Xena, the warrior princess. She looked a bit odd as an actual Mii Swordfighter (no outfit looked right) so Aster decided to honor her by using the chakrams instead.

Aedan

One of my newest favorites, Aedan is a guardian just like Aster in Guild Wars 2. In Smash Bros, however, he decided he wanted to be a dragon king or something. He maybe a bit nuts but that dragon outfit IS awesome.

PJ

Having a Mii version of my MMO characters is fun, having my offline version as a Mii Fighter is even more awesome. And LOOK! I can do drop kicks!

Jess

This strange gal was actually my recurring Phantasy Star character. She began as a chubby mage in Phantasy Star Online, and then went with a guns/sword hybrid in Phantasy Star Universe. Since she was always supposed to stand out, what better than a Steampunk-frog combination for her?

Goldie

Goldie is a completely original character. She’s just your typical beauty pageant runner up that’s fed up with the world for not loving her completely natural assets. She decided to prove she could win something by donning a mecha suit thingy, her favorite sunglasses and her wig (So her real hair doesn’t get all messed up) and going SMASH on her competition. GOLDIE SMASH!

Cat Lady

Smash Bros needs more character with generic names, so I decided to contribute to the trend. Cat Lady comes from the future to avange the death of Snuggles, her beloved 15th cat. She found it drowned in the washing machine one fateful day. Neighbors thought letting her travel trough time would be better than telling her she killed Snuggles when she accidentally put it in the washing machine, along with the towel he used to wrap himself with.

TonyStark /Iron Man

Just because I couldn’t let this opportunity pass.

Tyrion Lannister

There is actually a Lion hat, but I’m not sure any Lannister would let me put it on them without cutting my hand.

Chun Li

Because while that outfit she’s using looks perfect on a Ryu Mii, there is no hadoken-like move to be used and plenty of moves that involve kicking.

I’m actually looking forward for the Wii U version’s 8 player matches to see which of my Miis is the one to rule them all.

Leave a Reply

