My Top 5 Memorable bosses

WARNING: The following portion of this blog contains SPOILERS from at least 5 video games. Brave Fencer Musashi, Twilight Princess, Suikoden 2, Windwaker and No More Heroes 2. So if you don’t want to know anything about this games, just scroll down two the comments section. Or hit back. 

Have a nice day

Memorable Bosses

During all my gaming years, I have been through many kind of bosses: Annoying bosses, hard bosses, easy bosses, freaky, insane, peculiar, big, small, pretty, ugly… well… many kinds of bosses. But even among the hardest or coolest one, there are some that stand out for me for different reasons. Hee is a list with 5 of my most memorable bosses. I’m pretty sure people won’t agree with some of my choices, but it’s not my fault I have a weird sense of humor/entertainment. Let’s start.

5. Charlie MacDonald

Card by eggforest
Game: No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle
Keyword: Random

Charlie MacDonald doesn’t seem too impressive at first glance. He’s just your average football player… isn’t he? Not really, he’s ranked 25 in the United Assassins Association. Oh, and the assassins ranked between 45 and 26 are the cheerleader squad. Luckily for Travis Touchdown, he doesn’t have to fight them all at the same time, since they all form a Super Giant Robot, and our… hero… had a feeling something like this would occur. Yeah. I don’t know how, but he had a feeling something like that would happen, so he just brought his own super robot. The fight itself wasn’t very impressive, but the whole robot thing simply came so out of nowhere that I can’t take it of my mind.

5,6,7,8!
Who should we decapitate?

4. Ganon’s Puppet: Zelda


Fan art by Sabtastic
Game: The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
Keyword:Unexpected

 

Something that can’t seem to be out of a Zelda game, (or at least the ones I’ve played) is the flying boss that you need to deflect projectiles back at him with your sword. But Twilight Princess had a twist. The flying boss that you needed to deflect projectiles back at him was actually a her, and it was none other than a possessed Zelda. The fact that Link had to fight the bearer of the Triforce of Wisdom outside of Super Smash Bros made that battle memorable enough to me.

3. Force Leader Topo


Fan art by MythBrea
Game: Brave Fencer Musashi
Keyword: Stylish

After defeating two of the Leader’s Force, (which is a trio were each member proclaims to be the leader) Musashi must face the third member: Leader Force Topo. However, she gives him two options:

Dance… OR DIE!!!!

Ah, yes, nothing like a deadly dance off to get your adrenaline pumping. Topo is in the stage and she will step on some color pads as she dances, and Musashi must repeat them in order to win. Miss a step, and the giant fans uder the stage will activate and will send you against an electrically charged wall. Sure, this is more a mini game than an actual battle, but even 12 years later, I can still hear her famous phrase, and still have the dance tune in my mind.

2. Windwaker Ganon


Fan art by Battousai77
Game: Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker
Keyword: Badass

Now, don’t get me wrong, I think that pretty much every Ganon fight is pretty cool in it’s own way, but there was something about this fight! There you are, under the ocean, fighting Ganon and his remarkable swordsmanship. And this time, Link couldn’t beat him by himself, it’s thanks to Zelda’s assistance with the light arrows that Link manages to beat and land a sweet final blow, and turning his foe into an unexpected pedestal for the Master Sword. Truly Awesome.
So, if I think this is truly awesome. What could I consider to be truly awesome?

Drum-rolls Please!

1. Luca Blight


Fan art by 1FAB
Game: Suikoden 2
Keyword: Epic

Luca Blight is a truly evil man. He slaughters for thew fun of it, and loves to see people beg for mercy, make them crawl and oink like pigs and then kill them like the pigs they are. (or that he thinks they are.)

Basically, to bring this mad man down, you need to make 3 parties of 6 characters, and each party will fight him one by own. He also gets showered with arrow at least 2 times between this fight. Once you defeat him with the third group (He can win the first two fight, making the third one more difficult) he’s still not down, and the Hero most face him, in a one on one duel. He’s only have a portion of his health, but he’s still STRONG and can beat you if you’re e not careful. Once you do beat him, he’s still not done with you. Before he falls of the cliff, with several arrows stuck on his body, he has to taunt you.

It took hundreds to kill me but I killed humans by the thousands. I am sublime!!! I am the true face of evil!!!!

And that’s why I think Luca Blight is not only the most Epic boss I’ve ever fought, but the best villain I’ve ever seen.


Fan art by panjapanja
3 thoughts on “My Top 5 Memorable bosses

Leave a Reply

